Venison Bacon

Before talking about todays breakfast lets recap yesterday.

Lunch

Lunch was definitely the highlight meal yesterday.

Black Bean Burger and Sweet Potato Fries

Black Bean Burger and Sweet Potato Fries

I was at my parents house dropping off Maisy and I needed to find something quick to whip up for lunch before I left for work. I was checking out the freezer and I saw the morningstar black bean burgers and the sweet potato fries. I decided it would be the perfect lunch. I threw the burger and fries into the oven.

IMG_0773

 

When I flipped the burger I added a piece of provolone cheese to melt on top. My mom didn’t have any buns or bread but I found a flatbread. I cut it in half and topped my burger with tomato and lettuce. I dipped both my burger and fries in BBQ sauce. It was so good and filling.

After eating I was off to work. Work was really busy. It is respiratory and flu season so the hospital is crazy busy. The good thing about being busy is my shift goes by really fast and I get some walking in!

I forgot to capture my dinner since I was at work but I brought left overs. About a week ago I made healthy chicken parmesan with noodles and homemade tomato sauce. In a future post I will share my delicious tomato sauce recipe. It is so much better then jarred pasta sauce. With my pasta I had a side of steamed broccoli.

Breakfast

Now onto this mornings amazing breakfast. Maisy woke me up at 8:30am to go outside. After taking her out I was hunger and wanted something besides leftover Egg Muffins. I remembered that I had venison bacon in my fridge and decided a breakfast sandwich was needed.

First I fried some onion. When onions are fried they turn sweet. I am a true onion lover.

frying onions :)

frying onions ๐Ÿ™‚

While my onions were frying I made myself some peach tea with our new soda stream. IMG_1791

I do have to say that I love our soda stream. It makes delicious pop. I love that the regular pop is even lower cal and sugar. You can add as much flavoring as you want. So far I have not be disappointed.

Once the onions were done I heated up the venison bacon. IMG_1792

My family hunts so we always have lots of venison in the winter time. This year I was very happy to hear that we got venison bacon. It has a slight taste of regular bacon but it is super thick cut. It also has almost no fat. It is a nice healthy alternative to regular bacon.

Once the bacon was done I fried up two eggs and toasted two slices of whole wheat bread.

IMG_1793 IMG_1794

Oh man was this a delicious breakfast. I love when the yolks aren’t fully cooked. It makes something good to dip my sandwich into. I did not add cheese to this and I really did not miss it. The yolk helped me forgot about the missing cheese.

Such a great way to start my day ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

